Bakemono no Ko (The Boy and The Beast)

This movie went above and beyond my expectations! I loved it from the very first second.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 6.57.36 PM.png

The movie takes place in two worlds: the human and the bakemono (beast). A runaway boy accidently finds his way into the world of the bakemono and becomes the disciple of a problematic bakemono who is a Grandmaster candidate.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 7.27.29 PM.png

The visuals in this movie is fantastic. I love how vivid everything is. It was refreshing to see a different style from the current animes I have been watching. There was a lot of shots that took my breath away because of how beautiful they were. The story itself is very compelling. The development between Kumatetsu (the bakemono) and Ren (the human boy; later on renamed as Kyuuta) as they train and learn from each other never had its dull moment. Personally, I think the best part of this movie is when they go on a journey to learn what strength is from different grandmasters. Along with fantastic visuals, the scenes were funny and made me think about my own definition of strength.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 7.46.54 PM.png

So this movie is written and directed by Mamuro Hosada who is also the one behind The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, Summer Wars, and Wolf Children which was probably why the style felt so oddly familiar to me before I knew this movie was by him. I read a good article which gave the lowdown on Hosada and a bit more about this movie. I’m definitely thinking of adding him to the list of my favorite directors alongside with my number one, Hayao Miyazaki.

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 7.37.47 PM.png

If you love Spirited Away, this movie will definitely be up your alley. Don’t miss out on a brilliant and wonderful experience!

Leave a Reply

