Hotarubi no Mori e (To the Forest of Firefly Lights)

Watching this movie was a bittersweet experience that I will never forget. I was entranced from the moment it started to the very last second.

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 4.47.43 PM.png

This movie tells the tale of a young girl who meets a mysterious boy wearing a mask after getting lost in the forest of the mountain god where spirits thrive. After helping her find her way out of the forest, the young girl promises to come back the next day to thank him, and eventually, everyday.

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 5.19.20 PM.png

The relationship between Hotaru (the lost girl) and Gin (mysterious boy) really is beautiful. I loved how it developed over time and cultivated into something irrepressible. I enjoyed watching every moment they spent together. It is hard to not find their romance lovely.

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 3.00.37 PM

I was surprised how short this movie was. It only runs for about 45 minutes. I was despairing as the credits started rolling. In layman’s terms, it was too short. Too short because of how great and well developed the story is despite of how everything just happened so quickly. Well, I just wanted it to continue forever. But don’t get me wrong, I didn’t hate the ending. Okay, maybe a little bit of disdain— I mean we all just want a happy ending, don’t we? Actually, the ending isn’t really that tragic. It’s something you could call…bittersweet. I think that’s definitely the right term for it.

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 4.57.30 PM

This is a perfect summer movie. Watching it made me miss the soft, white clouds against a wash of blue sky. Yes, I love summer, and this movie just painted all my favorite things about it. The narrative has a peaceful flow which really compliments the setting. Honestly, just watch and you will love.

3 thoughts on “Hotarubi no Mori e (To the Forest of Firefly Lights)

  1. Pingback: Hotarubi no Mori e Trailer | monomania fantasia

  2. Pingback: A Collaboration of the Past and the Present (Fuse Teppou Musume no Torimonochou) | monomania fantasia

  3. Pingback: The Not-So-Colourless White/Silver Hair Characters | monomania fantasia

Leave a Reply

