Saint☆Young Men Transcending Religion

To some people, religion is a sensitive topic, and here, we have a film that revolves around two iconic figures of religion: Jesus and Buddha. Heavy on Christian and Buddhist references, yet still maintaining respect for both of the religions, Saint☆Young Men is one of the most unique and charming movie I’ve ever come across.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 12.png

The story is about how Jesus and Buddha decides to take a vacation in Japan while trying to stay incognito by living like ordinary humans, which in their case is a difficult job with their godly powers of miracles and enlightenment that would automatically activate depending on the situation.

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 11.26.46 PM

Jesus trying to overcome his fear of submerging in water, but ends up parting the pool like the Red Sea.

It’s unique and refreshing to see figures that are so well known and worshipped around the world living in a small apartment and trying to make it to the grocery store in time for the sale events. I’m quite familiar with Christianity since I am Christian myself, so I was able to understand all of the references for the jokes relating to Jesus, which lead me to appreciate them more than if I didn’t have the background knowledge, which was the case with the Buddhism references. I didn’t find those jokes as hilarious compared to the ones about Jesus, but don’t get me wrong, I still enjoyed every bit of it and the movie as a whole; my familiarity with Christianity just enhanced the whole experience. So, to those who are very knowledgeable with both of the religion, I think this movie will be even more enjoyable.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 5.13.40 PM Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 12.10.37 AM

The whole idea of humanizing these godly figures maybe controversial to some, but personally, I don’t think it is offensive at all. It really depends on how you look at it. This movie should not be approached with condescending eyes, but rather, it should just be taken at face value—entertainment. I highly doubt this movie was trying to convert anyone or disrespect the religions. If we’re really looking for some deep implications from this movie, it would be the notion that being empathetic and understanding to one another transcends any religion, culture, and race. Even though Jesus and Buddha have completely different ideologies, they try to understand each other, like how Buddha can’t eat meat and so Jesus will be considerate of that, and those compromises and understanding allows them to have a wonderful bromance. This compassion is not just confined between the two of them; it is also shown through the people that they encounter everyday.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 5 Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 11.42.05 PM

Visually, I found the movie beautiful. Moreover, it had a peaceful ambience about it. The character designs are a bit cartoonish; however, it seemed appropriate for the movie and it complement the characters and the background too. I honestly don’t think the movie would have the same impact or hilarity if Jesus and Buddha were drawn typical anime style with big, coloured eyes and detailed hair (although, Jesus still has beautiful hair anyways). The simplistic drawing style is befitting for this movie.

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 11.29.47 PM

I really enjoyed watching the OVA and the movie. The OVA focuses more on the perspective of Jesus and Buddha’s landlady, and a general introduction of the characters. The movie, then, is specifically centered on the antics of our two main figures. I suggest watching the OVA first to have the full experience. All in all, I definitely recommend this to anyone. I’m really glad I was able to come across this movie. I’m hoping they make a series out of it!

17 thoughts on “Saint☆Young Men Transcending Religion

  1. Pingback: Saint☆Young Men Trailer | monomania fantasia

  2. This anime has come across my radar for a long time now and I have had heavy considerations about reviewing it for my own blog. The idea that it turns Jesus Christ into an anime character always bothered me at first but now I am having new thoughts about the issue.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would love to read your thoughts on it! I didn’t review this anime too much off of a Christian’s perspective so it would be really interesting to hear a review of this with a more direct approach. I honestly thought it was inappropriate when I first heard of it, but like I’ve mentioned in my post, it’s all about how you approach it and once you actually start watching it, it’s an absolute treasure that I believe everyone should try watching.

      Like

    • Thanks! It’s for sure a refreshing film! I’ve never seen one quite like it, and since you like slice-of-life, you might very well enjoy this.

      Like

  3. Oooooooh. How intriguing. This is actually the first time that I’ve heard of this show. I’m one of the people who are sensitive to talks about religion. I don’t avoid discussing it, mind you, I just don’t like arguing about it. What I believe is my business and what others believe is their business. Anyway, since I haven’t watched this show yet, I can’t say anything definite about it. It looks like you have a very positive experience watching it. That’s very interesting to me. We’ll see. Thanks for the info and of course for submitting this post to the Fujinsei Blog Carnival that I hosted. Keep it up. Cheers!

    Like

    • Likewise, I’m don’t like it when I get into a debate about religion. In an educational setting fine, but in conversation, I would gladly pass. You’re right I don’t when people try to enforce their ideals on others and it’s not just religion, like with dietary preference and such. But anyways, I think you will enjoy this movie! I’m glad I could share it! Thanks for holding another carnival. Excited for a next one!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly! Well said. As long as we’re not hurting anyone, others have no right to enforce their own beliefs to us and vice versa. And no problem. I hope that you’ll participate on the next carnival which will run starting on June 6. Hope to read another interesting post from you there. Cheers!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Best Posts Round-Up of the 2nd Fujinsei Blog Carnival | Fujinsei

Leave a Reply

